top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKrystin B.

Mixed Girl

I am a mixed girl.

Shaken,

fearless,

and truly fucking pissed.


I am a mixed girl.

Half of me is recognized,

for my light skin and blue eyes,

and half of me is dismissed.


I am a mixed girl.

Educated in public school systems,

where I was taught not to bully,

yet was bullied by other kids.


I am a mixed girl.

I come from city streets,

of prejudices and grit,

the same streets my black father

was born and raised in.


I am a mixed girl.

My mother gave me a blood line,

of culture pains and violence,

written into books inscribed with an ancient language.


I am a mixed girl.

With no option to choose bi-racial,

so I'm stuck between selecting,

African American or Caucasian.


I am a mixed girl.

I don't look like or act like,

you want me to,

with your expectations.


I am a mixed a girl.

My hair is as big as my voice,

whether you listen to my white side or black side,

I am shaken,

fearless,

refuse to be silenced,

because all of me is still fucking pissed.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Meet

bottom of page